Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BethN Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jul 7, 2010, 12:03 AM
    Access 2000/InventoryControl. How do I make the summary also reflect donated units?
    I added a field for donated items in the Products Subform. I would like that total to be reflected in the summary report. I tried entering the following expression in an unbound box:

=Sum([Inventory Transactions]![UnitsReceived])-Sum([Inventory Transactions]![UnitsSold])-Sum([Inventory Transactions]![UnitsShrinkage])-Sum([Inventory Transactions]![UnitsDonated])-Sum([Inventory Transactions]![UnitsGivenAway])

When I try to run the report, I receive a box titled "Enter Parameter Value" and a field titled "Inventory Transactions!UnitsReceived"

I am new to databases. Please help!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jul 7, 2010, 05:55 AM

When you get a parameter prompt like that it means that Access can't find the object being referenced so it assumes you want to supply it on the fly, so it prompts you for it. Usually this means you spelled something incorrectly. Check your formula for the spelling of the UnitsReceived field.

On a separate note. Your database could be better designed. Instead of having separate fields for the type of inventory transaction, you should have a field for transaction type. The values of that field would be pulled from a lookup table that would look like this:

tluTransType
    TransTypeID
    TransType

And the data like this:
    ID Type
    1 Received
    2 Donated
    26 Sold
    27 Shrinkage
    28 Given Away

The reason I have a gap in the codes is so types with an ID >=26 are outgoing and the rest are incoming. This makes it easy to calculate inventory. The way I do it is with a series of queries like this:

SELECT TransactionID, ProductID, IIF(TransTypeID >25, Quantity*-1,Quantity) As AdjQty
    FROM Transactions;