Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    atwitsend2010 Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Jan 27, 2010, 03:59 PM
    Where do I go from here?
    I am not married and have no children. I do not have a job, family support nor the support of friends having lost contact some years ago due to living abroad. I am 46. I know how I got to this point but I don't know where to go from here. Can anyone help?:confused:
    smoothy Posts: 25,490, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Jan 27, 2010, 04:11 PM
    Well, I'm no expert... but step one would be getting a job. That will get you grounded, provide an income.. then you will meet people and find friends.

You have to take it a step at a time... but that's a great place to start. For support... a church might be a good place to start. A few hours with a group doing charity work gives you something to do, builds a network of contacts and friends... and might lead to a better job.. etc.

Jan 27, 2010, 04:42 PM

Thanks. A lot of phsychological issues also at play which can make the obvious appear unobvious.
    Uber Member

Jan 27, 2010, 06:01 PM
    That makes a structured approach like I mentioned even more important. Focus on those and build upon them.

A House is only as strong as its foundation. I am assuming you are wanting independence and capable of it at this point rather than getting a start in a group home environment and are recieveing counceling for specific help based on your needs. Depending on what your needs are, that might be a good approach to take if you have that option. That could give you more detailed help than can be accomplished here. Such as bugeting for bills, etc. (and trust me, many people with no psycological issues need that help despirately). It will help build the right habits and routines.

Jan 28, 2010, 07:53 AM