Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wahlgren2010 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 14, 2009, 06:35 PM
    Non biological father on birth certificate
    I am getting ready to have a baby and the biological father is not exactly taking part. He has dropped out of high school, he is unemployed, and couldn't provide the proper care for a baby. I am getting legally married before baby is born and my baby will then have my husbands last name. Can my soon to be husband sign the birth certifiate as father even though he is not the biological father.. with out the biological fathers permission?? Could it get us in trouble since its considered fraud?? What other information could you provide to me about this kind of situation.. I am new to this.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 14, 2009, 06:41 PM

The real bio father will have the right to challenge this in court and prove he is the father.

And to be honest lets say you have another child, and you and your husband get rich, the one child could challenge the legality of the other child as heir perhaps.

So what you are suppose to do, either list the real father or don't list any father, and then the new husband adopts the child in about a year.

Get a child support order and make the bio dad pay the max child support you can, and bascily often they are glad to sign over rights ( to adopt) so they can stop paying support
    Synnen Posts: 7,927, Reputation: 2443
    Expert

Dec 15, 2009, 07:02 AM

I just want to add that the truth has a way of coming out--and you'd better be the one that is honest with your child about his genealogical background.

Otherwise, you risk other family members telling him when his is 13 and mad at you to begin with, and this gives him another reason to be angry with you and not trust you--because you lied to him his WHOLE LIFE about who he is.