Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lillyan11 Posts: 20, Reputation: 1

Nov 21, 2009, 11:55 AM
    Whenever I diet, I get symptoms of low blood sugar?
    Okay - here's the deal. I am absolutely embaressed of this. I am a Junior in college (nursing school, to get my BSN), 20 years old, 5'6" tall, and 240 pounds. Since starting college as a freshman I was 135 pounds, I have successfully gained over 100 pounds in 2 years. I don't know what happened. Since then I have also been diagnosed with PCOS (which I just found out and has motivated me even more to get back down to 135 pounds by my graduation date - May 2011. (I have had diabetes, thyroid tests, etc. all were negative).

I want to lose weight, I'm thinking about following a weight watchers type diet plan but not signing up for it as I do not have the money to afford it. However, every single time that I try to lose weight or eat less or diet, I always always always get symptoms of low blood sugar. Headaches, shakey, irritated feelings. Every time. Whenever this happens (I am never really at home, always at school or work mostly) I just grab anything I can, which is usually something that is not compatible with my diet. Okay so now I just ruined that day of the diet. So I just say I'll just start over tomorrow. Tomorrow comes, my headaches, shakeyness and irritation returns, and it's a deadly and frustrating cycle. I want to lose weight SUCCESSFULLY this time, but after trying so many times to do it, I don't see how this time will be any different :(.

Does anyone have any tips? Answers on why I get symptoms of low blood sugar? I'm honestly... desperate now. I am scared for my health. And I am too young to have to be worrying about these kinds of things. To anyone that can help, I really owe it to you.

Valerie
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Nov 21, 2009, 12:32 PM

Well, when you diet, what do you eat? And how much?