Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    alexstrickland Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 9, 2009, 12:59 AM
    Can Angels In Theory Be Explained By Quantum Mechanics?
    Hi there,

I'm a creative writer researching whether angels/paranormal phenomena can be plausibly explained via a physics/quantum theory.

Cheers

Lynne
    TUT317 Posts: 657, Reputation: 76

Nov 9, 2009, 02:30 AM
    This is a very interesting question. From my limited knowledge of quantum mechanics I should say no, but I won't.

Classical physics of Newton and Einstein deals with physical properties of objects, so the answer there is definitely no. However, when we start to investigate the world of the very tiny (quantum mechanics) things become very unpredictable and get a little weird. Your best bet to understand this area is to read up on the Copenhagen interpretation. Also Schrodinger's cat in a box thought experiment may also be of interest. Especially the idea of a live/dead cat.

I can come up with a thought experiment to demonstrate quantum weirdness. Consider this.

If someone drives their car into a brick wall at 60mph without a seat belt and/or without the aid of an air bag there is close to 100% chance there will die instantly. But, because of the uncertainty principle, nothing is guaranteed. The is a very extremely remote possibility they will walk away without a scratch. A miracle perhaps, most would agree. But there could be an alternative explanation.

According to the Copenhagen interpretation there is an infinite number of outcomes that can occur from this event if someone decides to embark on this stupid act, including walking away without a scratch. There is even the extraordinarily remote possibility that the car and driver will pass through the wall without disturbing a brick. In other words all possible outcomes are 'on the table'. Why is it that the most likely outcome will nearly always occur?