Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    DarkSkinGirl Posts: 83, Reputation: 6

Oct 1, 2009, 01:04 PM
    Honest Review of What and What doesn't work (I'm a skin lightening vet)
    I've been lightening my skin since I was 16. I was on the old Yahoo brightskin forums, and all the other forums way back when

Hydroquinone 4%: Defintely worked. Gave my skin a beautiful glow. Couldn't afford to keep buying it since I don't have insurance that covers dermatology anymore. Considering saving up money and using it since it's the only thing that I know works for sure

Rosance X18/X20
    : Worked. First it made my skin peel like crazy, then I was several shades lighter. Went from gabrielle union complexion to about meagan goode.(that's light for a dark girl like me) for some reason, after using this product after 6-8 months it just stopped working. My skin became immune to it

Fair and White Whitenizer: It worked very good. The minute I put it on I was getting lighter. It kept me light for about 3-4 months. Now, it doesn't even work on me anymore. I stopped using it for a year and always go back out of desperation and it really does nothing anymore. It may make me a half shade lighter but that is about it. I don't know why my skin becomes immune to this stuff afterawile

BioClaire: Again it kind of worked. NO where near the results I had with Rosance and Fair and White Whitenzier. It made me look ashy. But then I started getting acne on my cheeks and after a few months again I starting getting browner. Wouldn't really recommend. It doesn't moisuture the skin.

Makari: The soap is really nice. But the actual makari cream made me this weird color. It was like the ingredients had something in the cream to give you this weird yellow coating that tricked you into thinking you were lighter. Whenever I didn't use the cream I was dark, but when I put the cream on, suddenly I turned yellow. Just weird. I wouldn't recommend. And it burned my eyes