Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jinxprotocol Posts: 28, Reputation: 5

Sep 2, 2009, 10:19 AM
    Internet Connection Keeps Dropping
    My internet connection keeps dropping off on me, and I wonder if it's my modem - a Linksys BEFCMU10 - that's doing it. I have internet through Comcast, and the cable programming itself seems to be working just fine.

The coax runs from the wall to a splitter and then from the splitter to the TV and Modem, so if there is a problem with the connection, it should be affecting both, right?

I've had the modem for about three years now and I've never had any problems with it, ever. Has it just finally given out on me, or is there something else I can look for? I'm not very good with modems and internet connection stuff, so if there's something I'm overlooking, please let me know. Thanks so much.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Sep 2, 2009, 10:26 AM

I had a problem with the internet dumping me all the time when I had a dial up connection. I figured out my problem finally after about a year of utter frustration. It was how I had loaded my PC after it had gotten a virus. I cleaned my hard disk completely and loaded up everything all over again from scratch. What I had done was had an internet conenction when I was loading up my programs after loading the O/S. That was the cause of my problem.

If you have not had to reload all of your programs due to a virus, then your modem took a dump on you. Do you have broadband or just the equivalent to dial up? Big difference. Since I got broadband or DSL from the phone company I have had no problems whatsoever with being dumped off the net.

Also modems to go bad, especially the ones that are not built into your PC if it is a wireless connection as well.

Let me know and I'll try to help you figure out the problem.
    jinxprotocol Posts: 28, Reputation: 5

Sep 4, 2009, 10:59 AM