Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stupidme1 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 18, 2009, 10:44 PM
    Hi there, Im a 25 yr old Medical Student and made the biggest mistake of my life a few months ago when I stole $600 from my employer! The cops took me away and I totally denied the whole thing and have been charged with Theft under $5000 and fraud now! This is my 1st offence...
    The cops say they have proof but I doubt if they got any surveillance of me stealing.
    My court date is early next month and I can't afford a lawyer because I'm a full time student and don't work at all. I've gone under depression and can barely function. I am a very respectful person in my community and nobody knows about this charge... YET!
    I want to know what kind of punishment I'm looking at? I can NOT go to jail or get a criminal record as it will affect my chances of getting a practicum and possibly even prevent me from graduating in Nov. 2009
    Please help me...

Thank you... it helps a lot. I am trying my best 2 stay calm but its easier said then done... ;(
    Im wondering, Suppose if they do have something on me, would the case be dismissed anyway if I showed up to court but the other party didn't? Or even the investigating officer? Im planning on consulting a lawyer but just thinking about this is so depressing... ;(
    Thanks for all your help... God bless you :)
    epawls Posts: 103, Reputation: 16

Jul 19, 2009, 04:28 PM
    If you can't afford an attorney, most states have a legal aid, which will provide you with legal services on a sliding scale based on your income. Also, most attorney's provide a free consultation, where they may be able to give you a ball park figure based on their official opinion.