Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    agreatpenname Posts: 25, Reputation: 1

Jul 13, 2009, 10:18 PM
    Grumtine! Anyone know how to use it properly?
    Recently I bought Grumtine for the first time.

I've never been in an art class before, I'm completely self taught and am sorely lacking in some basic knowledge areas. So when I was browsing and saw that such a thing could clean brushes I instantly grabbed it.

As I go to clean my brushes after painting today I decide to use the Grumtine. I poured a little in a plastic cup and mixed some water in with it so I could have more volume in the solution to wash my brushes.

I leave it for about 10 minutes or so as I was distracted to the phone only to come back to a disintegrated cup laying on the floor with the solution all over the floor!

And Now I'm afraid to use it again. All I can think is that I bought some sort of acid that will ruin my house, supplies, and maybe my exposed skin as well.

I've googled for information but all I can find is that it's a paint thinner and acts as substitute to turpentine for cleaning brushes. Although I didn't use it for thinner this time around I'm not to fond of the idea now...

Anyone know how to use this properly?

Any advice is welcome!
    Switch013 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 22, 2009, 01:48 PM
    What you've stumbled upon is a paint thinner similar to Turpentine or Mineral Spirits. It's not an acid, but it can be somewhat hazardous to your health. The reason your cup dissolved is that that Grumtine is an organic solvent, meaning it will dissolve many (though not all) organic substances (including many plastics.) Because it's hard to know what plastics will be affected and which won't, your best bet is to use glass or metal to hold the liquid in the future, as they will not dissolve.