Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    abusedwife Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 24, 2009, 03:58 PM
    Does divorce mean expilsion if I am just a perm resident and not a citizen?
    I am a UK citizen, married to an abusive American husband (which didn't start until I moved here.) My 14 yr old daughter is also a UK citizen, but, along with me, is also a legal US permanent resident. My husband is her step-father.

The house we live in here in the US was paid for by me & my family. (Which can be proven in the UK courts)

My abusive american husband is now threatening divorce. ALL of my assets are in the US.

If he is successful in divorcing me, will I be forced to leave the country & return to the UK?

We have lived here for 3 years. My daughter is a straight-A student, who hopes to go to medical school in the US. She is settled here and does not want to leave.

My husband and I were married in London, England, in Sept 2002. Permanent resident cards were formally issued 09/08.

I understand that I have to inform US Immigration of all changes of status. However, I would like to retain the home in the US, that I paid for, and not disrupt the life of my gifted child.
    DCcityboy Posts: 648, Reputation: 27

May 24, 2009, 07:41 PM

You are a permanent resident. Your divorce will not affect that. Are you a conditional PR? Is your card valid for 2 years or 10 years?
    abusedwife Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 24, 2009, 08:17 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by DCcityboy View Post
    you are a permanent resident. your divorce will not affect that. are you a conditional PR? is your card valid for 2 years or 10 years?
    10 years... even so. I don't want to leave after 10 years, just because he is a wife-beater!

I appreciate your prompt response!

L
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

May 25, 2009, 02:23 PM

No, you are safe here... divorce will not jeopardize your status..