Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    smartiequins Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

May 8, 2009, 03:32 PM
    Over controlling parents
    All right so, I've never done this type of asking before so please bare with me.
    About 2 years ago my boyfriend and I broke up. We had dated for about two years and lived together for most of our relationship. Our breakup was very painful and stressfull for the both of us. He fell back into drugs and I almost had a nervous breakdown.
    2 years have passed since then and my ex and I have been able to rebuild our relationship and become very good friends. He's clean and I'm no longer a nervous wreck. I have just moved back home due to a terrible economie and have been home for about 2 weeks. Recently I attaind a job as the head cook of a summer camp. He had also applied for the same job as me and was offerd the assistant cook position. My mother overheard me discussing this with another friend of mine and freaked out. She called my father and he's freaked out as well. They are threatening to sabotage my ex's chances of having this job. We've worked together many times before and we know eachother's strengths and weaknesses and can bounce ideas off one another. Im 100% positive we will never get back together and so is he. However this opportunity is too much to pass up for the both of us.
    My parents have so much animosity towards him its almost childish. They call him a cokehead and a worthless piece of sh*t and a screwup. They will do anything in their power to keep us apart. When they found out he used to come over to my aparement to hang out ,they threatned to call the police on him for tresspassing. He is banned from the house, and my mother even requested that I didn't tell him where I was living. Wich is fine. I'm 22 years old and this is getting a little annoying.

So techincally I have 2 questions...
    1.How do I tell my parents to grow up and leave my ex alone and deal with the fact that we're best friends?