Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gemini20 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 9, 2009, 12:20 PM
    Past History Drug experimentation Child Custody
    I am a 24 yr old mother and about to go to court with my ex regarding custody/visitation for our 4 month old daughter. My ex is going to bring up that when I was just 21 I experimented with cocaine and briefly exctasy. I haven't done any drugs in nearly four years, was never in trouble with the law for drugs and do not even drink alcohol now. I have a bachelors degree and a double major in marketing and advertising, I have a full time, well paying job and am taking night classes for my nursing degree. I am also the only parent who has financially ever contributed to our daughter.

The only witness to the drug use he has is my first husband who I was barely married to (it was a stupid, compulsive decision to elope). I was 21 at the time and divorced him the same year. I filed a restraining order on him then, he was emotionally abusive and physically domineering; when I went to the court for the restraining order I found out he had a criminal record and has to register as a sex offender. (I obviously have terrible choice in men). Would this make any of his statements unreliable or will his testimony or written testimony hold any weight?

I made poor choices in the past but am extremely high functioning now, a diligent worker, a good mother, provider and person. My ex is a realtor who refuses to get a well paying job - I was forced to change jobs when I was 7 months pregnant in order to provide for my daughter. What should I expect when I go to court?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 9, 2009, 12:30 PM

In order to lose custody you must present a danger to the child. Your "ex" can/will present proof that you are presently a danger or that your "bad behavior" is so dangerous that you could be a danger.

You will present your evidence to the contrary.