Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    adampanic Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 1, 2009, 12:24 PM
    F-1 student OPT and FICA tax refund
    Thanks for taking the time to help out.

I am a student on an F-1 student visa, currently on OPT and planning on filing for an OPT extension under the STEM rule. Under OPT, both social security and medicare taxes have been withheld. I have been in the US since 2001 as a non-resident alien, although I am now considered a "resident alien" for tax purposes by the Substantial Presence Test.

My question is, am I entitled to get a refund on withheld social security and medicare? I read on the Internal Revenue Service website under "Foreign student liability for social security and medicare taxes" that...

"...the Code provides one exemption from social security/Medicare taxes for foreign students and it provides another exemption from social security/Medicare taxes for all students, American and foreign. This is the so-called "student FICA exemption", and it may operate to exempt a foreign student from social security/Medicare taxes even though he has already become a RESIDENT ALIEN."
    click here for link.

Given my status as a F-1 visa bearing foreign student in the US for over 5 years, now on OPT, nonresident by the USCIS but "resident" for tax purposes, am I able to claim a social security refund?

Thanks in advance for all your help.
    IntlTax Posts: 831, Reputation: 23
    Tax Expert

Apr 1, 2009, 07:11 PM

I am not 100% sure, but I believe that the exemption from FICA taxes if you work on campus. If your OPT is not on campus, then I don't believe that the exemption would apply.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 1, 2009, 11:11 PM

Yes, student FICA exemption is for students who are also work on campus, who are alteast half time students, who are not full time employees, and who are not professionals.

Apr 3, 2009, 08:11 AM