Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sharkammo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 5, 2006, 11:59 AM
    Hot Water only when Toilet Flushes
    I’m in the process of having both of my upstairs (two story house) bathrooms completely remodeled i.e. gutted, new walls, floors, tub, toilet, sink, etc. Prior to remodeling, I have never had an issue in regards to an adequate amount of hot water for taking a shower. Now that one bathroom has just been completed, we do not have hot water for a shower. At first I thought it may be our hot water tank (13 yrs old). However, I drained the tank (which I’ve been doing every 6 months for almost 10 years) but still no hot water. Since the tank was so old, I thought maybe the heating elements were worn? So, I decided to have a new hot water tank installed (50 gal. elect.) However, after installation (last week), we still don’t have hot water while taking a shower. I than increased the hot water thermostat on the hot water tank from 120 to 130 degrees…without any success or increase in hot water at the shower? Now I must mention that when the toilet is flushed, the water is only then extremely hot! Once the toilet tank fills, the water is again only lukewarm? Once the toilet tank is filled, you can hear/fill an increase in water pressure (cold water now mixing with the hot water) from the sink faucet? I mentioned this to some co-workers who informed that they (the contractors), may have made some modifications which altered my “toilet vent”? Any idea what is causing this recent loss of hot water?

Thank you for your time and assistance.

Steve
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 5, 2006, 02:34 PM
    Hi Steve,

Sounds like the plumbers left you with a cross-connection between the hot and cold. With your problem you have to be there to track it down. What do the plumbers or the contractor have to say abut it? REgards, Tom
    Sharkammo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 13, 2006, 08:21 AM