Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dsphoto Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 18, 2009, 11:54 PM
    240v GFI trips when 120v branch circuit is activated.
    I'm having a problem with my Spa GFI/disconnect. I have been using my spa for several years wired as it currently is with no problem. A while ago I decided to take advantage of the provided 15 amp branch circuit that is built into the disconnect/GFI box. I just wanted to have a outdoor outlet for use in the backyard and installed a Reddot enclosure with a duplex plug. As soon as I plug anything in, the GFI trips. I know it is wired correctly. The hot off one of the 2 legs for the 240 is factory wired to a 15A breaker. My plug wires are as such, hot to breaker, neutral to neutral bus bar, ground to ground bus bar. The disconnect is a Connecticut Electric which is about 6-7 years old. I noticed on the Connecticut Electric website that says I should use a GFI outlet with the branch circuit, which I didn't understand. Seems like a double GFI. But I did it anyway with a new GFI outlet and got the same results. As soon as I flip on the 15A branch circuit, the 240 GFI trips. I suppose I could just grab one leg pre GFI and get my hot that way to the breaker and have the GFI at the outlet. I just wanted to do it the way the manufacture recommended. Any ideas? I'm out!
    stanfortyman Posts: 5,598, Reputation: 279
    Electrical & Lighting Expert

Feb 19, 2009, 05:47 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by dsphoto View Post
    I know it is wired correctly. The hot off one of the 2 legs for the 240 is factory wired to a 15A breaker. My plug wires are as such, hot to breaker, neutral to neutral bus bar, ground to ground bus bar.
    Sounds to me like you are using the load side hot off the GFI breaker, but taking the neutral from the neutral bar. This is not correct and will instantly trip a GFI like you are experiencing.
    You need to use the load neutral connection off the GFI breaker for your receptacle neutral.