Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    km726 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 18, 2009, 03:07 AM
    My g/fs dad hits her
    Hi I'm new to this and I'm scared for my g.f we've been together for almost a yr now and we both love each other so much and lastnight her dad hit her when she went home and I culdnt stand her telling me about it, it hurt so bad and I don't know what to do b.c she is a minor and doesn't want to involve the police,etc... b.c she feels she will be put into another home b.c I guess this is not the first time it has happened.(I had no idea till tonight)
    Can anyone give me advice on what I shuld do
    Cause I feel helpless even though I'm helping her as much as I can but I don't feel like it will fix the problem
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Feb 18, 2009, 06:07 AM

That has to be the one of the worse forms of abuse, parental physical abuse and I don't wonder you are so concerned about her wellbeing and safety. Someone has to be informed, km. May it is just for the best that she is out of that house. Is he a foster parent ? A step dad ? I suggest she should talk to a counsellor at school to get the ball rolling in a subtle way if she doesn't want to involve the police right away. But something HAS to be done. And it is just so hard being on line and here and having one's hands tied.

Tick
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 18, 2009, 08:17 AM

If it is true, then she needs to report it to the police, or a teacher at her school or to call social services.

What happens will depend on many factors, but her not being hit again will be the main thing to look for.

Now I also say this , if it happened, and I know it happens for too many times each day in the US. But also some girls look for pity from the boyfriend in a attempt to control a relatationship. So when you saw her the next time did she have a bruise, was there a mark where she was hit, a black ey, or something.