Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Carebear99 Posts: 42, Reputation: 4

Feb 17, 2009, 03:46 PM
    Need some support
    Hi...

I'm a first year nursing student and I'm in my 2nd semester. I always wanted to be a nurse but I'm just starting to get very frustrated... After I passed first semester with flying colors, I was full of happiness and excitement... However, now that my 2nd semester finals are approaching next week, I'm sooo stressed and I just don't even want to be a nurse anymore. I have been passing my classes by borderline marks. I feel so stupid... I've always tried to be perfect but now that my marks are deteriorating I feel like a failure. I don't want to tell my family because they think I'm smart and I don't want them to know I'm suffering. I don't want to fail either because I feel like I'm letting myself down. I just need someone that's been successful in this situation to give me advice. I really need it, I'm so stressed :(
    Gernald Posts: 901, Reputation: 93
    Expert

Feb 17, 2009, 03:56 PM

BREATH!!
    It's going to be okay. If you don't like it, don't do it. Find another major, it's not too late to change, you're in your first year and have probably taken mostly core classes that will transfer to any other major. I know a man that took 7 years to get his bachelors degree and then went on to law school and then became a rabbi. You don't have to do the same thing forever, you can change your mind if you don't like it.
    Just because you don't like nursing does not mean you are stupid! Your family won't like you any less because you want to do something else or because your not good a something. Everyone has something they're not good at.

On the other hand if you really truly want to be a nurse, you can do whatever you set your mind to. Sometimes we have to do things we don't like to get to do things that we love.