Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Reuben_El_Popo Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 16, 2009, 11:04 PM
    Issues with my stepmom
    Hey there.

I am a 17yr old (18 in august) living with his father and step mother. I graduated high school almost a year ago, work at my local Dairy Queen, and am currently (albeit grudgingly) attending community college.

My problem is that I get these feelings that my stepmom doesn't want me to be around. I am a largely unmotivated and uninspired person (big surprise) and just want to find job that I can live off for a while. All of my stepmom's sons have careers, houses, and corvettes, and she herself is a Project Manager at our local Internet and Phone provider. I feel that I get compared to her sons in every way imaginable, and she just doesn't want me around. For example, Due to work schedules of my friends, I often spend Friday and Saturday nights at home, and this prevents her from having the "private time" (gag) with my dad that she had a few years ago. I also am not actively seeking a girlfriend at the moment, I see the whole idea of romance nowadays to be a joke, and a waste of time, and instead play Magic: The Gathering with my friends.

I know I'm kind of a slacker-type person, but it seems that she will not accept me for who I am, and the stark contrast between me and her sons seems to have broken apart our relationship, and is breaking the relationship between her and my father. I don't want to be the cause of their almost inevitable divorce, but she only ever speaks her mind through emails, and the lack of actual dialogue (any responses of mine are met with more yelling and more jabs at the way I live my life) makes me so ing pissed off that I want to tear my eyes out.:mad:

I apologize for the brick of text. Can someone help me?
    neverme Posts: 1,430, Reputation: 270
    Ultra Member

Feb 16, 2009, 11:26 PM

How is the relationship with your father?

Have you talked to him about what is going on?