Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hgd7833 Posts: 84, Reputation: 0

Jan 30, 2009, 08:01 PM
    I have filled out the wrong form only 2 days ago !
    I am supposed to fill out the 1040nr since I am an international student on F1 visa.
    A friend of mine told me that since I have an American daughter now ( born in USA) so you can treat yourself as a resident alien. I don't even know my category if resident or nonresident alien. I filled out the 1040A using Turbo tax. That happened only two days ago.
    I found only today that I am not illegible to use Turbo Tax.
    What do you advise me to do now ? He told me that you can just ignore this and nobody will care or find out, but I think it is NOT a wise advice. Yeah ?
    So what should I do to fix the problem ? I don't know anything about the rules and regulations since I have been here only since August 2007. Is there any penalty that I will face ? Can I wait until they deposit the money to my account or not to wait ? Please any help or advice will be highly appreciated.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 2, 2009, 10:56 AM
    Since you did not share which country you come from, I cannot comment as to whether you can claim your daughter as a dependent.

For sure, you CAN claim the $1,000 Child Tax Credit for her.

You need to amend the return using Form 1040X and a properly-prepared Form 1040NR and Form 8902 to claim the Child Tax Credit.

If you owe additional tax (most likely), you can make the payment by 15 April 2009 with the amendment and incur no penalties or interest charges.

Feb 2, 2009, 02:05 PM
    Thank you for your answer . Actually I came in USA in Aug 2007 with my wife and daughter.