Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    okiedokie123 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 29, 2009, 11:48 AM
    Steps for disputing contractor bill in OKLAHOMA
    Hi all,

I'm not an attorney but I have some legal knowledge, much of it Federal and not pertaining to this state. My mother hired a contractor, licensed by state or not I am not sure, to replace the flooring in a smaller room and some of the floor joists in her rental house. As far as I am aware she signed nothing beforehand and was given a verbal quote much less than the ridiculous $4000 bill she has now received (the hours don't come close to adding up to the agreed hourly wages). My question is in this state (Ok) what are the best legal steps to take on the way to small claims to give these people a chance to come down on their bill before she or I have to go spend the time in court as we are both very busy people and she travels extensively in her job.

I am prepared to send a Notice of Dispute etc, but as this state and town are pretty much cowboy towns, (I can't even find a state operated contractor licensing board for this state and they're probably not registered anyway), it seems as if small claims may be in order. Does any knowledgeable adjudicator or law practitioner out there have a suggestion on the best way to go after these people? They're pretty much crooks and liars out here and I would prefer to whittle away at them before a court operation as it would narrow down to hearsay most likely and most judges here are partial and have conflicts of interest as many citizens of OK are prescient of anyway. Maybe just scaring them into a more acceptable bill as this is what they are trying to do to my mother.

Suggestions anyone?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jan 30, 2009, 07:33 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by okiedokie123 View Post
    Hi all,