Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    PhoenixDreams Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2009, 08:06 AM
    Statute regarding what you can hire a lawyer to do
    This is my first time here. Hope someone can point me in the right direction.

This is regarding laws and rules of procedures in the state of Florida.

I filed a small claims action against a storage facility for conversion. (They locked me out without notice while all rent was current.)

I consulted a law firm about what to do to make them give me access so I could move my things out. The law firm prepared a demand letter stating the events that lead up to the lockout. The demand letter was typed on the law firm letterhead and stated that it was written on my behalf. It referenced my storage unit number, etc. It also had a demand for them to give me immediate access to my belongings and if they felt they had legal grounds for detaining my belongings, to please forward them in writing.

The storage facility ignored the letter. 2 weeks later the "Owner" (who I had never met) left a voicemail on the law firm's voicemail. The law firm sent him a letter advising him to contact me as they were not on retainer. (Law firm was part of PrePaid Legal Service) The "Owner" ignored this.

So I filed suit. The judge says that the letter does not count as an actual demand letter because it was not in my handwriting and was not signed by me. She also stated you cannot legally hire a 3rd party to write a demand letter for you. :eek:

Did you get that?? :confused::confused::confused:

I thought that that is one of the things law firms and attorneys were in the business of doing? :confused:

She also said that the storage facility was not required to give me anything in writing as to reasons for lockout because "they own the land, the building and the door on the front of the unit" .:confused: