Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tonym13 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2009, 10:10 PM
    1st time probation violation
    I was arrested for domestic and I got probation and one of the stipulations was no alcohol, and on new years I had a couple of drinks and on the second of jan. had to take a pee test which I'm sure I'll fail, because they use that new ETG and it had only been 30 hours what kind of punishment am I looking at. My suspended sentence was 90 days in jail
    lilman2578 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2009, 10:17 PM

You don't have to worry. They will most likely reinstate you the only time u worry if u catch another charge.
    JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

Jan 9, 2009, 01:31 AM

I was a probation officer in Maryland for seven years and we never violated anyone on the first positive test. I suppose a judge could demand in the probation order that one test would be grounds for a violation, but I doubt it.

Here is a quote from the SAMSHA web site about the ETG test:

"ETG appears to be highly specific, similar to testing for other drugs. It is a direct metabolite and is only present in urine following exposure to alcohol. However, no forensic toxicology test is 100% reliable. Therefore, we strongly recommend that for all urine tests found to be positive that the individual be referred for in-depth clinical evaluation. It is important with any laboratory test to obtain clinical correlation!"

SAMSHA is a federal agency, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 11, 2009, 05:28 PM

Well would like to know what happened, because in spite of what was said, if you fail a test you can be revolked and the judge can give you part or all of the entire sentence.
    JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

Jan 14, 2009, 01:58 AM