Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hsappleton Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 15, 2008, 07:56 PM
    How to organize data so a programmer can access
    Hi
    I need to develop a software/DLL that give user prior notice of an upcoming holiday events in whatever country/locality they are located in.

Bear in mind the following issues,
    There are:

a) approx 195 countries/states in the world
    b) on average each country has about 10-15 holidays per year
    c) the name of the event/holiday
    d) there are 365 days in a year (of course you know that already)

Now, I am not a programmer. My task will be to gather this information (manually typing them) and provide my programmer this data in an electronic format(spreadsheet,database,textfile or whatever). The programmer should access this data to write the program for me(possibly in VSNET,Java or PHP)

I guess the programmer will take care of non-conformity and calender types(gregorian, julian, islamic, hindu, hebrew and chinese). For now, just assume that the holidays are statics days, (ex Christmas celebrated on 25th no matter what day it falls on) and holidays that fall on weekends, but celebrated on the next/previous weekday

But just in case I lost you above, just remember that I only need to know how to organize/structure the data into a datafile that a programmer can access. Thank you.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Dec 15, 2008, 11:15 PM

As I see it, you have a matrix by day and country, so that's a 365 x 195 matrix that's 1 bit wide. That database could be built every year by the programmer. All that tells you is that there is a Holiday to deal with. You don't care what country at this point.

This database has to be created yearly by the programmer with knowledge of leap year and the calendar.

You need a calendar database to build the event database.

So, you have a list of calendars and countries
    e.g.

Calendar on the Y axis