RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

May 26, 2006, 11:43 AM
    Pictures found on the net.
    Where is the line drawn on copyright?

When the copyright status is unknown:
    For example, my previous avatar here at askmehelpdesk was this picture:
    http://www.genx40.com/images/2005a/PopeEyes.jpg

You can find it all over the web. I have no clue whether it's copyrighted or not. How far must a person go to learn if a picture is copyrighted?

When the copyright status is known:
    Say I wanted to use one of these pics as my avatar:
    http://www.rosenblatt-sf.com/SelPhotos_04_90s.htm

Would I be breaking the law to use one of them as an avatar without the guy's permission?

If I wanted to use one of his pics on a personal website, would I be OK to just use it and include a line like this?:
    Copyright © 1996-2005 Andrew Rosenblatt, MD
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

May 26, 2006, 11:45 AM
    I am not a lawyer. I'm 44 married with two children. I think you should consult a lawyer.

Peace and have a great day.

NK

---------------------------------

Please rate my answer. It's the only way to keep experst on the site.
    Nez Posts: 557, Reputation: 51

May 26, 2006, 12:48 PM
    Well.All the avatars I use,are ones I took with my digital camera,so if someone asked me,via email,could they use one,I'd probably say yes,unless it was of me,or another family member.If they just posted a family pic of mine on their web site,I'd ask them to take it down.If it was of the countryside,a city,a town,etc,I'd just ask them to say,that I had taken it.
    Other than that,I'm also no lawyer,and are simply married with one child,and have four cats. :D
    valinors_sorrow Posts: 2,927, Reputation: 653
    I regard all beings mostly by their consciousness and little else

May 27, 2006, 05:35 AM