Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tommyp!972 Posts: 300, Reputation: 36

May 16, 2006, 07:45 PM
    Honeywell thrmostat- what is this piece?
    I'm no electrician so bare with me... it a round thermostat that says honeywell in middle.. took the ring surrounding it off... can see the dial and screws that mount it but there is this adjustment slider thingy at the bottom.. what is it and where should I have it placed... also the person who put the thermostat on did it crooked will that affect the heating shutoff and turn on temperatures?thanks for any help :confused:
    letmetellu Posts: 3,151, Reputation: 317
    Ultra Member

May 16, 2006, 08:55 PM
    I am almost sure the thermostat tha you are talking about is a mercury switched thermostand and if it is unlevel it will not regester right because the mercury will not be level.

The slider thing that you mentioned is a heat anticipator, and should be set according to the amp rating on your gas valve, and it is sometimes hard to find on the valve. I would set it at something close to .6 then this winter you might have to adjust it higher. It only comes in to play in the heating cycle. If your heating cycle is real short and the heat come on and off sften then it needs to be set higher.
    Tommyp!972 Posts: 300, Reputation: 36

May 16, 2006, 09:03 PM
    Thanks I was wondering what that thing was called... so I need to 1st level the thermostat... then adjust the slider to around .6

What exactly does .6 mean?
    letmetellu Posts: 3,151, Reputation: 317
    Ultra Member

May 16, 2006, 09:54 PM
    Those are measurements of amprege in tenths... so .6 is six tenth of an amp

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Champion 2 piece Toilet [ 1 Answers ]