Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kharmale_anil Posts: 15, Reputation: 0

Jul 18, 2008, 11:18 PM
    How to restore backup in linux taken by TAR Command
    Hiiiii
    I'm new in linux. In my office I have taken baukup of Oracle data using Tar files. Now my mangaer tell me to resotre one of the data from tape. So can you tell the command for restornig backup.

Usually for backup I use command
    Tar -rvf /dev/st0 /Folder name
    gctts Posts: 20, Reputation: 3

Aug 23, 2008, 07:13 PM
    You can retrieve the files by mounting the CD and copying the files from CD to hard drive using the cp command

Cp /dev/st0 (mine are on use dev/cdrom so use whatever device yours is called) new.location (for new.location, use whatever directory you want it in)

Move to the directory you copied the tar files to:
    Cd whatever directory you put the tar file in
    Tar -xp filename.tar
    pauline896 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 29, 2008, 04:19 PM
    you can retrieve the files by mounting the CD and copying the files from CD to hard drive using the cp command

cp /dev/st0 (mine are on use dev/cdrom so use whatever device yours is called) new.location (for new.location, use whatever directory you want it in)

move to the directory you copied the tar files to:
    cd whatever directory you put the tar file in
    tar -xp filename.tar
    ================================================== =========
    widecircles
    pauline

Sep 10, 2008, 11:28 PM
    [
    Hiiii
    Thanks for the reply

Actulayy size of backup file which is on tape is more than 10GB. And this file was deleted from my syatem. And now I want to retrive that file from tape to Hard disk. So please tell me the command line so that I can easily restore the file form Tape to Nachine.

Thanks

QUOTE=pauline896]you can retrieve the files by mounting the CD and copying the files from CD to hard drive using the cp command