Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cassie1981 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 12, 2008, 12:32 PM
    Drain vent water coming out
    My house was built in 1974 I have a pipe outside that is in the brick of the house it looks like a cast iron pipe about 3' or 4' in diameter when I was clothes or drain the sink the water comes out of the pipe and floods my yard how do I fix this the stack is that the black pipes on top of the house I'm new at this ( ha ha)
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jul 12, 2008, 12:48 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by cassie1981
    my house was built in 1974 i have a pipe outside that is in the brick of the house it looks like a cast iron pipe about 3' or 4' in diameter when i was clothes or drain the sink the water comes out of the pipe and floods my yard how do i fix this
    Hey Cassie,
    City sewer or septic tank? You have a partial blockage downstream from the stack. There should be a cleanout located near the base of the stack. Rent a sewer machine, (see image) and open up the cleanout and send the snake down the line. If you can't locate the cleanout you'll hafta go down the cast iron pipe. If you're on a septic tank there's a very good possibility that the discharge from the washer's too much and the tank needs to be pumped and the filter bed checked out. Good luck, Tom
    Milo Dolezal Posts: 7,192, Reputation: 523
    Plumbing Expert

Jul 12, 2008, 01:53 PM
    Tom said it: clogged sewer main. Proceed as he suggested.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

A/c drain water coming out of it [ 14 Answers ]