Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cailin Posts: 5, Reputation: 2

Mar 16, 2006, 07:27 AM
    I cant seem to move on.
    This is my first time posting here so apologies if this is too long winded but I really need impartial advice over something that is ruining my life.

Myboyfriend and I broke up over two years ago after dating for 7 years. We were friends for a long time before we started dating so I have spent most of my twenties with him. We were my best friend, my whole life. I loved him completely and utterly.

When I look back on why we broke up I can't really put my finger on it. It was mutual, sort of. He had asked me to marry him when our relationship got to a point where I wanted to leave, to show me I guess that he would commit to marriage which was a major point with me. I said yes because that is what I wanted. Genuinely. Then he did nothing about it - he didn't mention looking at rings, didn't want us to tell our family and friends and because we had gone through a bad 8 months previous to this, I agreed with him. And still nothing happened. Eventually I got tired of waiting for him to decide to give us a proper chance, and I brought up the topic of breaking up. He agreed immediately and we decided to "take a break" for three months.

He made very little effort over those three months to make our relationship work, even went on holidays with some of our friends over New Year leaving me on my own. I made most of the attempts to meet up and we hung out once or twice a week during the time we were broken up but nothing intimate happened.

Then I met someone that I liked and when it became apparent to me that my ex wasn't going to make any effort at all to get us back together, I decided to date this new guy I liked and told my ex. He was devastated and proposed to me again that weekend. I said No. It was the hardest thing I have ever done.