Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tell me more Posts: 24, Reputation: 1

Jun 11, 2008, 08:59 PM
    Shower Tiling with Lowe's cheap ceramic tiles
    Lowe's here in the New Orleans area has a 49 cents/sq ft-- l7 1/4 CERAMIC tile that I would like to use on my backer-boarded shower walls. The backer board will be waterproofed and now I have to tile it! :confused: :confused: :confused:

I have never done this before and have been told way too much by the sales people at Lowe's and Home Depot. One says use epoxy--one says epoxy is too hard and to use Sanded Grout, etc. etc.

HELP!

THANKS.
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Jun 11, 2008, 09:02 PM
    Since it is late you may not get an answer tonight... but check back in tomorrow. We have some pretty knowledgeable in that area.

Jun 12, 2008, 06:19 AM
    Thanks. I will do that.
    wildandblue Posts: 663, Reputation: 57

Jun 12, 2008, 07:24 AM
    I would use the sand and cement grout. Cement as we know stands up to a lot of abuse. The epoxy would be good for making repairs in cracked grout later
    ac101 Posts: 463, Reputation: 57

Jun 12, 2008, 11:33 AM
    I would use modified thinset for mounting the tiles and a good quality premixed stain resistant grout . If I missed anything let me know. GOOD LUCK,AC

Jun 12, 2008, 12:28 PM
    Thanks!

Jun 12, 2008, 12:30 PM
    I hadn't got the swing of how to answer and ask yet so please forgive. I will read the entire directions on the site tonight when I am through worrying about this cement base!Thanks to you all.
    wildandblue Posts: 663, Reputation: 57

Jun 16, 2008, 07:24 AM
    Welcome to the site! Those low priced ceramic tiles were on sale at our Lowe's store too. I had to be physically restrained from buying them by my wife.. What a deal!
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jun 16, 2008, 08:05 AM