Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mariap Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jun 4, 2008, 02:55 PM
    Overseas debt
    Can a Uk collection agency chase me up with my Uk debts here in California? I just received a letter from them today and they are threatening to come to our house to supposedly discuss my debts. Is that possible here in the States? They are also saying that they might have to contact work, can actually get my employer to pay them off from my salary? Will it affect my credit rating here?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jun 4, 2008, 02:58 PM
    Well yes and no.
    Have you made any acknowledgement or called them ?
    Who have you received a letter from as I have a lot of experience with UK collectors.

Jun 4, 2008, 03:09 PM
    I got the letter from tenon recovery. This is their 2nd letter which I have not responded to. This is for a non secured personal loan from a Uk bank. Don't really know anything about this company, tried to research them in the internet but not a lot came up
    BossMan

Jun 4, 2008, 03:11 PM
    Have they identified what the debt concerns or are they simply phishing for information ?
    Also what ages is this debt ?

Jun 4, 2008, 03:26 PM
    They have and is accurate of what I owe over there, just one of my long lists of creditors.
    Ive had this debt since nov 2006. Been paying them regularly until November of last year when my mother in law got really sick and we have have to pay the hospital bills overseas. So I have been delinquent with all my payables for 7 months now.
    I also have other unsecured debts but so far this particular bank is the most aggressive. Ive also received letter from the other creditors but no one's threatened to come to our house except them.
    BossMan

Jun 4, 2008, 03:35 PM
    I assume this is from the UK.
    Well they won't be arriving at your house anytime soon.
    This is a classic DCA tactic to get you to call.