Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jham_lindow's Avatar
    jham_lindow Posts: 56, Reputation: 2
    Junior Member
     
    #1

    May 26, 2008, 03:32 PM
    Ubuntu sound issues.
    I um using ubuntu on this computer and I can't get any sound to work. It is a Dell Dimension 2300 running Ubuntu 8.04. When I do an aplay -l, I get:
    Code:
    card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - IEC958]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    What should I do to get sound out of this system?
    tickle's Avatar
    tickle Posts: 23,801, Reputation: 2674
    Expert
     
    #2

    May 26, 2008, 05:11 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by jham_lindow
    I um using ubuntu on this computer and I can't get any sound to work. It is a Dell Dimension 2300 running Ubuntu 8.04. When I do an aplay -l, I get:
    Code:
    card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - IEC958]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    What should I do to get sound out of this system?
    See if your Elsa drivers are installed. This is from my son who is in IT
    jham_lindow's Avatar
    jham_lindow Posts: 56, Reputation: 2
    Junior Member
     
    #3

    May 27, 2008, 01:14 AM
    Nvm, I found the problem. The sound card isn't as loud as some others so I had to almost max out my surround sound in order to hear it. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.


Check out some similar questions!

Because command is not working in ubuntu 7.10 [ 2 Answers ]

I tried to run because command in ubuntu 7.10 but it show me message that Because command is not installed try installing it by entering ubuntu disk in your Drive and type sudo apt-install because When I tried it it shows that enter ubuntu 7.10 gusty gibbon cd

Ubuntu on vmware [ 4 Answers ]

Can any one explain how can I install ubuntu 7.10 on vmware

What is ubuntu? [ 4 Answers ]

What is ubuntu?

Hardware Drivers for Ubuntu linux? [ 1 Answers ]

I use win xp at the moment and I'm downloading Ubuntu 7.10.iso the os looks really cool and I want to install it on a different partition from xp! I wonder if I'll face any hardware driver problem? Does Ubuntu recognise all devices on my PC? Thanking you in advance :D

P2p sharing softwares for Ubuntu? [ 1 Answers ]

Does anyone know any good p2p sharing softwares for Ubuntu LInux? I was thinking about amule but I'm not sure if that's good..


View more questions Search