Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bbcannon Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Mar 9, 2008, 10:54 AM
    Where to start with error code 14, Carrier 8000ts
    Hi, newbie here.

Got a 4.5 year old Carrier 8000TS.

Noticed the heater wasn't working, saw the error code was 14. After I turned power off and then on to the furnace, I turned the thermostat to heat again. The furnace made noise, but the blower didn't turn on. I noticed there was a faint gas smell near the flame sensor.:eek:

I noticed the flame sensor is black except for 3/4 of an inch at the end where is is greyish-white. Is that just oxide that needs to be cleaned off?

Because of the gas smell, I am guessing the flame sensor is not the problem. But, I am going to clean the flame sensor first just in case.

Any tips from someone with experience would be great!

Thanks in advance,
    Brady
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

Mar 9, 2008, 11:09 AM
    You probably smell pilot gas.
    Are you on natural or propane gas?
    Is the unit sooted up besides the flame sensor?

Mar 9, 2008, 11:13 AM
    So, I think my guess about the flame sensor not being the problem is correct. I manually held down the cut-off switch with the door removed and watched as it tried to start heating. I could hear a couple loud clicking noises (the ignitor?), but no flame ever reached the sensor, at least that I could see. I guess this means there is a problem with the ignition system, since I can smell the fuel/gas.

Any ideas where I should go next?

Regards,
    Brady

Mar 9, 2008, 11:15 AM
    It is on natural gas.

There is some dust, but I don't think it looks too bad (guessing here).

Mar 9, 2008, 11:32 AM
    After reading some other questions, it looks like I need to clean around the ignitor. I'll work on that.

Anything other tips would be great.

Thanks!

Mar 9, 2008, 11:38 AM
    Clean the sensor and report bacK. Easy does it use sandpaper or steel wool.