Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Berda Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2006, 09:54 AM
    Oder coming from sump pump
    I have a foul oder coming from my sump pump. I have had 2 plumbers in and they both say there is nothing wrong with my sump pump. The smell is awful and I don't know where to go or who to call at this point. They both agreed that the oder was coming from my pump but not sure why. Any suggestions? The smell is filling my house and when I go to the basement it definitely is traced to my sump pump.
    HELP!!
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jan 30, 2006, 11:24 AM
    I am no expert on water, but the smell can only becoming from either the water or the pump. Have a sample of the water tested, call your city or state to find out where water is tested by a qualified lab.

If the pump is the source of the odor, change the pump.
    Berda Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2006, 12:17 PM
    Thank you. I went home and poured a gallon of bleach in the sump pump. Thanks for the idea of calling the city and having my water tested. I will try that.
    Berda
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jan 30, 2006, 04:40 PM
    Dump a gallon of bleach in the sump, swish and wash the sump pit sides and then cycle the sump pump. The bleach will kill off any bacteria that's in there and should make everything smell better. Let me know if it helps. Tom
    bone69 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 21, 2011, 09:15 PM
    I had the same problem.. Install a one way flow valve and odor is gone
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Jan 21, 2011, 09:57 PM

Five year old post.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Sump pump [ 10 Answers ]