Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    summerfunguy Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Feb 19, 2008, 06:21 PM
    Unable to light pilot on "previously" winterized State Select gas water heater?
    I'm a home inspector and today inspected a 4 year old home in which the bank had the home winterized.. We turned the gas on and were able to operate the kitchen range, and the gas furnace took about 15 minutes to lite with the electronic ignition continuing to try lite the furnace an eventually did...

I was unable to get the gas water heater to light, the gas to it is on, the pilot knob held down in the pilot position and using a match stick we were unable to get it to lite,, seems there's no gas coming out of the gas pilot... Is there something that could be causing a air bubble in the gas line or gas valve to the water heater.. The gas was off for 4 moths to the home and the plumbing system fully drained... All else in the house is now working, and we've the furnace running... The home and water heater are 5 years old..

I'm hoping there is an easy solution, something I'm somehow missing...

Thanks, Mark
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Feb 19, 2008, 06:32 PM
    It takes a long time for low gas pressure to push out the air in the line through the pilot orifice.

Feb 19, 2008, 06:45 PM
    Thanks Harold, That's what I was thinking, though I'd held it down for 5 minutes,, and this after turning it to off position and then back to pilot position and holding it down..

Should I need to hold it down for longer than 5 minutes, and is there anyway to prime or not have to hold the knob in while trying to get the air out of the line. I tried holding the match stick to the pilot gas line during the 5 minutes and this did'nt seem to help.