Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    arssa2020 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2008, 12:48 AM
    Can I claim legal fees/sales tax
    Hello
    I am an engineer on worker visa (h1b) I changed jobs last year
    And since my previous employer already started my green card process I had to reimburse them (that was on my offer sheet, so no ill will) so I paid them back $4000, can I claim this as a deduction? By the way that employer was CA based and I moved to WA with new employer

Also I heard some people claim there sales tax? I live in WA, can I do that?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 13, 2008, 10:16 AM
    You can deduct legal fees related to getting or keeping your job, subject to the 2% limit. Do you have any documentation that the $4K you reimbursed your former employer is a legal fee?

As for deducting sales tax - you have the option of deducting either state income tax or sales tax, but not both. Washington State does not have an income tax, so it makes sense for people there to deduct sales tax on their federal return. But in your case, since you moved in from a high tax state mid-year, you may be better off deducting the income tax you paid CA instead of sales tax - deduct whichever is greater.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Legal fees for custody [ 6 Answers ]

We are considering taking on legal custody of 15 yr. old who's parents don't want him. He is my sister's son and therefore we are aunt and uncle. We feel that the biological parents should be responsible for the legal fees involved with the custody process. Is it reasonable to expect this and is it...

Workers comp legal fees [ 2 Answers ]