Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    youthebest Posts: 4, Reputation: 2

Feb 10, 2008, 10:05 PM
    +5 years F-1 on OPT still FICA Exempt
    Hello tax experts,

I need your advice. I'm so confused. I've read so many forums and websites on this question. Every one seems to have a different answer.

Here's my situation. I graduated from College in May '07. I've been living in the states for more than 6 years. Currently, I'm working on my OPT visa. When I first started working in Aug '07, I paid the FICA out of my first paycheck. Then, I told my employer that I am exempt from the FICA(didn't know about 5year rule that time) and got my money back and have not been paying the FICA since then.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
    1. I am a resident( for the tax purpose) ,because I've been living in the US for more than 5 years. RIGHT?

2. Do I have to file my tax as resident? If yes, What should I do with my W-2 having $0 for the FICA? Should I just keep filing as resident or should I wait for my company to change my W-2 somehow?

3. I found this website. It looks very credible website(Miller Johnson attorneys and counselors) The paragraph 7 on the website says that a resident on OPT(+5 years) does not have to pay the FICA. (Miller Johnson - Publications - International Student FICA Exemption) Is this information correct?

4. My bank keeps saying they can't issue 1099 (interest income) since my residency status is non-resident. They would only give me W-8BEN form. Isn't this for a non-resident?

5. What would happen if I just go ahead(w/ FICA=$0) and file my tax as a resident. Is this going raise a red flag automatically and am I going to get into a trouble?

6. What would happen if I tell my employer about the residency this late of the year (2/10/08)? Do you think I can get fired because of this?

I am very frustrated with my first ever tax filing.
    Please help me.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 12, 2008, 01:50 PM