Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    barbcronan Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2008, 11:33 PM
    Seizure of vehicle
    My friend was arrested for poss w/ intent and the city of clarkesville ga. Filled a summons to seize it but the truck did not belong to him it was his brothers what are my chances of saving this vehicle
    oneguyinohio Posts: 1,302, Reputation: 196
    Ultra Member

Feb 7, 2008, 12:14 AM
    Probably slim. They have a right to file on any vehicle used during a crime... from my understanding... you might be able to talk with the district attorney and if the owner did not give the driver permission to use the vehicle there is a chance, but that would mean that the vehicle was stolen and might result in more charges. In some cases, the vehicle might be returned if no knowledge of the wrong doing was present. I am not a lawyer, and only trying to offer a little bit of ideas... but it doesn't seem like it will be an easy thing to accomplish.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Feb 7, 2008, 04:50 AM
    Hello bar:

The brother is going to have to appear to show the truck is his.

excon
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Feb 7, 2008, 06:01 AM
    [QUOTE=excon]Hello bar:

The brother is going to have to appear to show the truck is his.

In NYS the vehicle is subject to seizure (unless it's stolen) under the assumption that the owner could have/should have known is was going to be used in the commission of a "crime" and should have kept it under his/her own care and control.

Same if you're crossing the border with contraband in someone else's car - good-bye car!
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Feb 7, 2008, 06:33 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by JudyKayTee
    the owner could have/should have known is was going to be used in the commission of a "crime" and should have kept it under his/her own care and control.
    Hello again, Judy: