Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MichaelKemp Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 11, 2006, 02:12 PM
    Disabled vet needs info on relocating to France
    I hope this is the right board on which to post this question. I will also post it under 'Retirement" issues. I am a US veteran with a disability rating of 100%, & have decided to move to Paris France. My disabilities, while major, do not limit my mobility or yet require use of wheelchair or other help to get around.
    While I am going to make enquiries of the Veterans Administration, I would like some feedback from qualified members regarding what I need to do to accomplish this move, what to expect in the way of jumping through hoops & etc. Of particular importance to me is how, where & through whom my medical needs will be addressed.
    Thank you, Michael Kemp
    Annie MCDO Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2008, 12:44 AM
    Hi Michael... I don't know why you want to retire in France but living here, I offer a few observations. There are loads of information sites, type "Retirement in France" on Google and you can filter the information about medical services. First of all, you will have to go through the French bureacratic hoops to get residency/permis de séjour/long term visa or other- otherwise you will not be entitled to any medical coverage unless you have it as insurance from the US. If you do manage to get a residency status, I asked a doctor friend and his reply was that you will have to purchase supplementary medical coverage and when you say 'yet require the use of a wheechair'... this could prove to be difficult and if obtainable, very very expensive. In terms of living, Paris offers many American expat support groups and services (find them on Google). I don't want to throw cold water on your idea of retiring here, but do all of your investigating and paperwork BEFORE moving and then... good luck

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions