Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SAM2008 Posts: 12, Reputation: -1

Jan 9, 2008, 12:30 PM
    Validity and Renewal of a Judgement
    I would appreciate if someone can tell me about a specific information on a judgement from a Small Claim Court. Actually, I've taken a judgement against someone from a Small Claim Court 10 yrs ago. I couldn't collect anything from the person because the person has been judgement proof and I have no knowledge of person's assets/job. Back then a judgement used to be for 10 yrs. Later on it changed to 20 yrs. So, those who have taken judgement before can renew it for another 10 yrs (total of 20 yrs). So, my question is- Should I needed to make a request to renew the judgement, that I took 10 yrs ago against someone, before it got expired (meaning within 10 yrs) or Can I still renew it even though 10 yrs has been expired? I mean, I just want to know if renewal request should be made while judgement is valid and within 10 yrs period or it could be made after that 10 yrs passed by?

Also, I know that debtor's car can be seized, and whether debtor has a car could easily be found out through DMV by filing Form MV-15 in NY which will give all the information like Tittle, make, model, if it's loaned , etc. And I also know that Judgement-collector then ask the Sherriff to seize debtor's car. However, what I want to know is that-Isn't the location of the car is equally very important for collection-debtor to know so that sherrif could seize it? I mean, if debtor parks his/her car somewhere else where nobody could find out or many streets away from his/her house, or rents a garage somewhere to park then how judgement-collector would be able to seize the car even if they would be able to know that debtor has a car?