Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kemot74 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 20, 2007, 11:15 AM
    ODBC Drivers error '80004005'
    Can someone help me with this issue? I didn't touch the files on the server, IT people claim they didn't do anything with the DataBase - what could be causing this error and how to fix it? I am not a Web Programmer, but I can follow directions. Thanks!

Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80004005'
    [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Could not find file '(unknown)'.
    /db_open.asp, line 9
    vingogly Posts: 718, Reputation: 105

Dec 21, 2007, 06:52 AM
    Something clearly happened on the server to cause this error message. The candidates are:

1. The web site files and programs are changed/corrupted
    2. The database files driving the web page content are changed/corrupted
    3. The server applications that run the web site/database functionality have changed
    4. There's a programming error that has caused the site to stop working correctly

Did IT change any of the applications on the server, upgrade anything, install a new version of Crystal Reports, etc. (it may be the case that they didn't touch the database itself, but there are files on the server that affect the way your active server pages run)? Is there anyone else involved in your project, like an outside contractor developing the website? Is there a possibility the website has been hacked (IT should be able to review the server logs)?

Here's a site that may be helpful to IT in helping you debug your problem. You might have IT do a restore from a backup tape of the most recent working version of the site to a temporary directory, and do a file/directory compare between the live version and the archived version to look for any files that have changed. That will help IT track down what's changed, and why. If none of the code has changed, the problem is in the Access DB.

Vasily
    kemot74 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2007, 07:37 AM