Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    margog85 Posts: 241, Reputation: 19

Dec 17, 2007, 05:04 PM
    Same-sex domestic partner count as spouse for financial aid?
    I am a New York State resident applying for TAP- I've been independent from my parents for the past 2 1/2 yrs, living with my partner of 3 1/2 yrs. My partner was unemployed for the past year, so I was able to claim her has a dependent and therefore be considered independent for Federal aid purposes (I am 22, generally the age is 24)- however, this is not sufficient for New York State- but if I list that I am 'married' on the application, I would be eligible for an additional $2500 in aid.

My partner receives domestic partner health care benefits through my employer. We have been together for 3 1/2 yrs, living together for 2 1/2, and I have supported her financially for approximately 2 yrs. Can I list myself as 'married' since we meet the requirements for a domestic partnership in our state (since legal marriage is not available in NYS, but is recognized on the state level?) I know for Federal aid it will not work because gay marriage is not recognized on the federal level... but since this is state aid, I'm wondering if it might be different.

Thanks for your input!
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Dec 17, 2007, 05:16 PM
    Margog, technically you can't. If they find that you lied on your application they will come down hard on you. At the very least, they would expect immediate repayment. She may be your domestic partner but you aren't married. Would you get married if you could? Can you and your partner get up to Massachusetts and get married? Then technically, you wouldn't be lying. Not sure how that would play out legally if they questioned it, but it would put you in a stronger position. Here is some info on it. GLAD :: How to Get Married in Massachusetts
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 17, 2007, 05:20 PM