Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    notanelectrician Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2005, 11:56 AM
    What's better; Fuses or Breakers
    I am looking at replacing the service box in my home. The main reason is that coming off the service box are two other switches, one for the Air Conditioning unit and one for other lights in the house. So I would like to get everything in one box. The existing service is a 100 amp Fuse box. I was wondering what would be the best to replace this service with; A new 100 amp Fuse box, a 100 amp Breaker box, or should I change to a 200 amp Fuse or Breaker box? I've just heard stories that Fuses are the safest.

Help!

notanelectrician
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Dec 21, 2005, 12:01 PM
    I'm not an electrician either BTU a quick answer is that fuses need replacing and breakers do not (well not every time a circuit overloads or shorts).
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 21, 2005, 12:08 PM
    Boxes
    First if you are replacing the main box in your home, please hire an electrician to do the job. You will need to arrange with the power company to shut off power while the box is changed out ( the line coming in is always hot)

Next we would not consider using anything but breakers and they are by far the best.

Next you may also wish to check to see what sort of lead wires are coming into the home and their condition plus if the wires coming into the house are heavy enough for current usage and loads ( plus if they are even up to code) When you change out the main box ( and get the building permit to do so) you may have trouble getting the power connected back if the main lines coming in are not up to code. (ie. High enough off roof, large enough for load and so on)

When changing out the main box, it is a good time to look at all of this so it is done first rate.