Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #1

    Dec 6, 2005, 10:30 AM
    Form element (list) problem.
    I'm using

    Code:
    style="width:200px"
    in the select tag to control the width of list boxes, but I'm missing the horizontal scroll bar:

    See the Construction list at http://ohiobusinesslist.com/query2.html

    How can I get a horizontal scroll bar for the lists that have items in them that are wider than the listbox?

    Thanks!
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #2

    Dec 7, 2005, 02:01 AM
    I don't think it's possible with plain HTML/CSS Rick. It should be possible with some JavaScript and a little DHTML but it's probably not worth it.

    It'll probably just be best to shrink the font size of the select boxes a little.
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #3

    Dec 7, 2005, 02:59 AM
    Thanks Lee. Yes, after trying a variety of things that just don't cut the mustard, including a tooltip for long ones (which looks cheezy), I'll just take the font down, and go through all of them looking for any long names - and shorten them.
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #4

    Dec 7, 2005, 04:20 AM
    Aargh!

    Figured changing the font size would be easy, but I'm not seeing how to do it.

    Here's a sample of the code of one of the lists:

    Code:
    <select name="health" size="5" multiple id="select5" style="width:205px">
                                    <option>Veterinary 
                                    <option>Hospital 
                                    <option>Nursing Home 
                                    <option>Physicians 
                                    <option>Retirement Center 
                                    <option>Retirement Living 
                                    <option>Retirement Center Food Svc. 
                                  </select>
    I'm using DW... and am guessing that the font size is a default. Can I insert some code to designate the size of the font of the items in the list?

    Thank you!
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #5

    Dec 7, 2005, 04:52 AM
    Yep, that's no problem. Just add font-width to your style attribute on your select tag. E.g:

    Code:
    <select name="health" size="5" multiple id="select5" style="width:205px; font-size: 8pt;">
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #6

    Dec 7, 2005, 04:56 AM
    You deserve double Approval for bearing with me, such a newbie!

    Thanks Lee!
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #7

    Dec 7, 2005, 05:06 AM
    Double dog-gonnit!

    Check out these 3 lists: http://www.ohiobusinesslist.com/testlist.html

    I've got the first designated as size 4, 2nd one 6 and 3rd one 8... yet they all look the same in IE.

    Any suggestions?

    How much do I owe you? :o

    PS Edit: Note: they look the same as they did without the font-size designations.
    RickJ's Avatar
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member
     
    #8

    Dec 7, 2005, 05:45 AM
    I figured it out.

    I was missing the ; after the width.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.


Check out some similar questions!

How can I get enamel off heating element [ 1 Answers ]

Hi, I have a problem here. I left kettle on the electric stove for too long:( All the water boiled out & as a result the enamel from the kettle melted onto the heating element of the stove. Now I have enamel on the heating element. Any idea how I can get it out ? Thank you so much. Your help...

Dual element h2o heater... wiriing scheme? [ 3 Answers ]

Need a little help with 240v dual element schematic T

Mistake on W-2 form, serious problem [ 1 Answers ]

My wife and I both worked in New York City for all of 2004. In August of that year, we moved to New Jersey, from New York City. My W-2 accurately reflects the NY state taxes taken out over the entire year, as well as the city taxes taken out during the time we were residents. The huge...

Tax Problem: Wrong form [ 2 Answers ]

Hi, I have a tax question. I am a student on an F1 visa here. I have filed for taxes 2 times now. My uncle basically did my taxes for me and both times he filled out the 1040 instead of 1040 NR. Just this semester I came to know about the 1040 NR thing. Can anyone tell me how to rectify this...


View more questions Search