Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jdiamond Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2007, 01:30 PM
    Microwave blows a fuse
    Every time we use our microwave it blows the fuse after about 30 to 45 seconds max.
    We have a Sharp Carousel R426. It's plugged into a GFCI receptacle that is the only receptacle on a 15 Amp breaker. Do I need a 20 Amp breaker for the microwave?
    Is there something that could be wrong with this particular microwave?
    Thanks!
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Nov 14, 2007, 05:05 PM
    You say it blows a fuse, but you mention the GFI and the circuit breaker.

Exactly which is tripping?

The breaker or the GFI could be defective. I have to assume this is not new, that the microwave has operated on the circuit for sometime.

Without actually measuring the amp load, hard to tell. I suppose it could be the appliance, but I have no knowledge of this symptom of happening to microwaves.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Nov 14, 2007, 05:08 PM
    The magnatron may be dying especially if the food hasn't been as hot as it used to. This is a classic symptom. What's the age of the unit?

Nov 15, 2007, 07:27 AM
    It's a new unit, and it's always been like this. From the day I got it. I assumed that I needed to switch the 15 amp breaker to a 20 amp one and the wires from 14 to 12.

I guess I could bring it to a different place in the house where the outlet is on a 20 amp breaker and try it first?
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

Nov 15, 2007, 07:33 AM
    I would sure try On a 20 Amp circuit. You are not talking about Micro's internal fuse as mentioned? Also make sure wire is tight at the fuse, if in Panel.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Nov 15, 2007, 07:46 AM
    Check the name plate. Unless it is over 1440 watts it should be fine on a 15 amp fuse.
    Uber Member

Nov 15, 2007, 09:38 AM