Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    darrel1953 Posts: 86, Reputation: 12

Sep 4, 2003, 08:43 PM
    Is hacking legal?
    I keep getting email messages that say things like
    Hacking With Trojan Horse Programs (Easy for beginners, Spy on your friends, family etc). Are these things legal?
    psi42 Posts: 599, Reputation: 13

Sep 6, 2003, 11:02 AM
    It's just spam...
    I keep getting email messages that say things like
    Hacking With Trojan Horse Programs (Easy for beginners, Spy on your friends, family etc).
    Ugh... spam

]
    Are these things legal?
    Well... I'm not a lawyer.

If you're going to use them to destroy or steal other peoples' stuff, and crack into others' computers, then trojan horses are certainly not legal.

Spyware could be considered a trojan horse (in fact it fits the definition rather nicely) but usually everything it does is outlined (cryptically) in the license agreement you didn't read. :)

I guess a virus in itself is not illegal, unless it is "released."

Probably what the message is referring to is something illegal.
    What e-mail program are you using? Some allow you to setup "rules" that will automatically delete an e-mail similar to that one.
    elina Posts: 136, Reputation: 1

Sep 18, 2003, 11:55 PM
    Is hacking legal?
    hi, hacking, in the eyes of the government and so forth, nowadays, usually has a bad connotation, and is frowend upon, and definitely discouraged when used "unauthorized" and/or to cause harm, and thefore, illegal. However, the FBI will respond and take action to a "hacking" incident only when the damage is justified beyond $5,000. If the damage value or amount was less than that, the FBI will shrugged their shoulders and say" Sorry, we just don't have enough manpower to nick pick every little hacking incident."