Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BigRiver Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Oct 7, 2007, 09:04 PM
    Mower doesn't start ---- Throttle lost control
    Hi Everybody,

This is my first time to be here joining "askmehelpdesk". My Craftsman lawn mower does not start at all (no any sound when pulling the starting rope).

I found the throttle can not be adjusted though the control lever can be set to either "Low" or "High". It seems to me that one of the 2 springs that linking the throttle has lost its sthreng...

Anyway, I wonder whether the out of adjustment of the throttle is the reason that causes the no-starting problem. Any answers are appreciated.

Thanks,
    River
    MOWERMAN2468 Posts: 3,214, Reputation: 243
    Ultra Member

Oct 9, 2007, 06:41 PM
    A little confused here, give more precise details and symptoms before the non-starting issues.

Oct 10, 2007, 08:21 PM
    Mowerman,

Thanks for your help. My Craftsman model 2 in one (mulcher and bag) does not start. Last start was September 2006.

One thing I found abnormal is that when I switch between "Low" and "High" positions, the throttle (choke) linkage does not move. That means choke is no longer adjustable by switching the "Low" and "High" control lever. In other words, control lever can be moved between "Low" and "High", but the choke linkage is not moving (I think one spring lost its funtion).

I can not tell the current position of the choke is at "Low" or "High" because I can't see inside the carburator. If it is at "Low", the mower won't start. If it is at "High", it should start. If it doesn't start at "High", there must be some other reasons to cause the mower no starting, right?

Have I made myself understood? I will be more than happy to provide more information toward resolving the issue.

Regards,
    BigRiver
    Ultra Member

Oct 11, 2007, 04:52 AM