Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    castanza Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 8, 2004, 07:23 PM
    Newbie introduction & question
    Hello,
    I will admit to being a novice, other than depending on our computer department to taking care of problems. I just recently received my dell home computer, and was not aware of window updates, and spyware, much less ad aware. I did have my norton anti virus 90 day trial updated, but that was it.

I made the mistake of surfing the net, and I also picked up the DSO Exploit. I found out through friends about spybot, and it got rid of a lot of the problems. Like the cool web page and so on. After that someone suggested ad aware by lavasoft for the other problem, DSO. Finally this evening I downloaded 10 critical updates from windows. Remember I am a novice, and was under the impression that what Dell sent was the most recent info.

I understand that is not the case. So I did the fix that Sudbury recommended, and I believe it is gone. I did receive the congraulatory message. I did a reboot, and still have this problem.

My only problem is, that I cannot go to the address section, and say type in :www.google.com. It takes me to the refresh page, server not found. Now I can get through Google if I use my home page, that has a Google search engine on it.

Also if I try to go to yahoo.com, instead it takes me to a web page that is yahoo.com.org.?

Does anyone know why I am having problems like this?
    psi42 Posts: 599, Reputation: 13

Jul 8, 2004, 08:33 PM
    Re: Newbie introduction & question
    Hmm...

Yahoo.com.org? Is there such a site?

Please post the error message in its entirety... it may provide some hints...

Run windows update again. Usually you have to run it several times before all the patches get installed. Yes, it is a pain.

Be sure to continue to update your antivirus software. Set up a software firewall.

Run adaware regularly...