Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    [email protected] Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Sep 15, 2005, 01:17 PM
    "Just for Copper" cold weld
    At Ace Hardware (and probably other places) there is an item called "Just For Copper" which comes in an Elmer's Glue like plastic bottle. It is a cold weld for copper pipes (brass too) under 2". I have used it in places where I am temporarily putting on an end cap on. It is easy to use since you just clean the pipe and spread the glue on the fitting and copper pipe, then push together. It is rated for 200 pounds of pressure. I'm not a glue expert (would that be glueology), but it seems to have the consistency of epoxy.

Does anyone know the long term strength of this product? Is this one of those products used in Europe for 30 years and the US is just getting around to noticing it?
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 15, 2005, 01:41 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected]
    At Ace Hardware (and probably other places) there is an item called "Just For Copper" which comes in an Elmer's Glue like plastic bottle. It is a cold weld for copper pipes (brass too) under 2". I have used it in places where I am temporarily putting on an end cap on. It is easy to use since you just clean the pipe and spread the glue on the fitting and copper pipe, then push together. It is rated for 200 pounds of pressure. I'm not a glue expert (would that be glueology), but it seems to have the consistency of epoxy.

Does anyone know the long term strength of this product? Is this one of those products used in Europe for 30 years and the US is just getting around to noticing it?
    While I've never used "Just For Copper" I've had good reports about it. Supposed to last for over 50 years in simulated tests. To find out all the poop click on; http://www.justforcopper.com/cb1b.htm
    And all your questions will be answered. Cheers, Tom
    spinoza Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 20, 2010, 12:08 PM