Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    margarita_momma Posts: 299, Reputation: 46

Sep 7, 2007, 12:27 PM
    Is this even a religion?
    Okay here is a little background...

During my entire childhood, my dad made me go to church. Backwoods Southern Baptist Church! I had drilled into my head everyday that I was going to hell if I didn't do this or if I didn't do that. They preached about the fiery pits of hell and the wonder of Heaven and God but yet no one could answer the questions I had. Every time I would ask a question, the only response I got was, "Don't question God's word!" After I graduated high school and moved away from my hometown, I did my own research on the origin of the bible and the christian faith. I finally decided that it sounds like a bunch of bull and I have completely given up on christianity all together. Certain things in the bible never add up and, in my opinion, the bible is just full of opinions of man and fables told in their teachings.

Even though I have decided I don't believe in Jesus and the christian faith, I still believe in a God or a higher power. I also have a strong belief in Karma and that everything happens for a reason. I am just wondering if there are other people out there with these same kind of beliefs. I live in a small town and when people find out I don't believe in God and the "Lord Jesus Christ", they freak out, ask a million questions, and try to convert me back to christianity. I have gotten a lot of this from my dad lately and just hearing that someone else has the same beliefs as me will help me to not feel so alone and different just because of the way I choose to believe.
    GlindaofOz Posts: 2,334, Reputation: 354
    Ultra Member

Sep 7, 2007, 12:33 PM