Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    flower_child Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Aug 21, 2007, 03:21 PM
    Change dyed dark brown to medium?
    Hi I found this site while doing a Google search for changing dark hair lighter. I found a lot of helpful info but am not sure what to do in my particular case.
    I have very dark brown dyed hair with blond on top and blond underneath. I have been dying my hair dark brown and blond for 3 years. I really want to change my dark brown hair to a warm medium brown. Today after reading some of the suggestions on here I took a sample of my hair and mixed shampoo with 20% peroxide and it did absolutely nothing. I took another sample and mixed clairol blondest blond ( which I use for my blond part ) with 30% peroxide and it did nothing. I am now thinking of trying color oops but I am wondering if that too won't work as my hair seems to be very porous as the majority of it is grey and I have used a straightening iron which probably hasn't helped. I only want to re do the dark brown as I am happy with the blond so I would try and keep the color oops off it by using vaseline.
    Also if I need to re dye my hair after using color oops what color should I use to get warm medium brown? As from what I have read a lot of you have had to use much lighter colors as it can turn back dark brown and I would hate to be back where I started.
    I would really appreciate any advice.
    Thanks
    :)
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Aug 23, 2007, 05:18 PM
    You can't dye your hair lighter without using a lightening product of some kind. If you want to go 1-2 shades lighter, you can select your desired hair color and mix with a 20-volume peroxide developer in equal parts. Since your hair is dark, you might end up with brassy tones in your hair. I suggest using an ash-base color such as medium ash brown. This will help reduce the brassy tones.
    flower_child Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Aug 23, 2007, 11:01 PM